Restoration in Romania

Ps 30:11-12 You have turned my mourning into dancing; you have loosed my sackcloth and clothed me with gladness, that my glory may sing your praise and not be silent.  O Lord my God, I will give thanks to you forever!

I just returned two weeks ago from one of the most amazing trips of my life.  My husband Nathan and I and a team from our church, Christ Church Knoxville went on a mission trip to Romania in partnership with Bridge to Europe.  We ministered at several evangelistic services, pastors’ training, and women’s seminars. We even got to share the gospel and teach worship songs and movement in a class at one of the public schools!  Each day of the trip deserves its own post as we saw miracles every day, and our schedule was extremely full.  I had the joy of using dance as a tool of cross cultural ministry and communication in several different ways and contexts.

One of the ways I was able to offer my dance as a gift of worship to the Lord and the body of Christ was on the last day of our trip.  It had been pouring rain the entire week, and the sun broke through just in time.  We were headed to a property near Timisoara that has been  given to   Bridge to Europe                   for lives to be transformed and restored by the power of the gospel of Jesus Christ.  One of the buildings that will be on this property is called “The Butterfly Center.”  I encourage you to follow the Bridge to Europe link to learn more about this amazing vision.  Women who are being rescued out of human trafficking will have a place to be healed and restored!

As part of aiding this ministry in their efforts to raise awareness and funds for this center, I was blessed to be able to choreograph and teach movement to David Brymer’s song “Restoration” to two precious Romanian women who have a testimony of the Lord’s powerful restoration in their own lives. Carla, one of the women who danced with me, will live on site as one of the leaders of the ministry and see the vision the Lord has put in her heart for these women (and children) come to fruition.  Not only was our dance a prophetic declaration of the plans of the Lord to come for this property, but it was also filmed in order to help capture the essence of what the ministry is about.  It will be used to help share the heart of the ministry as the vision is communicated.

To think that my simple dance could be used by the Lord in the war against human trafficking humbles and overwhelms me.  To think that women will one day learn at the Butterfly Center how they can worship the Lord with all their heart, mind, soul, and strength and see their bodies redeemed out of slavery to darkness to a place of purity– learning to dance before the Lord in freedom –completely undoes me! This is just one of the reasons why my resurrected dream of dance unto the Lord is so much better than my original plans and desires to be an entertainer.  By the grace of God and His Spirit at work in me, eternity is being impacted.  Precious lives will be healed and restored by the Lord!  My dance is just one very small piece in this Master Plan that is being worked by the God who delivers people out of slavery, but it matters all the same.  My prayer is that many will find their mourning turned into dancing in this place.Image

2 thoughts on “Restoration in Romania

Leave a Reply

